Make it Work

Standard

Hello everyone! How have you been?

It has been a month with nary a word from me. Writing this blog is one of my favourite things, and yet I let it go for a while in order to catch my breath.

Every now and then, I get really tired. I mean, really tired. Sometimes it happens when I’ve been sick. Other times is happens when I’ve been through a stressful time. Occasionally it creeps up out of nowhere. Suddenly, I just feel compelled to rest a great deal. I can’t get enough sleep. All the usual solutions to fatigue, including exercise, supplements, hydration, healthier diet… they don’t help much. I just need to take it easy until my body is ready to get back to normal.

Of course, in the meantime, I don’t get as much work done. I don’t go out buying new stock for the shop. The housework falls behind. My relationships don’t get the attention they need. My devotion to creating delicious and healthful meals starts to slide. My personal projects fall by the wayside. Then I find myself sitting here, a month later, wondering how I’m going to catch up. The answer is always the same: one day at a time.

Those of you who struggle with chronic fatigue, depression, and other recurring, debilitating disorders might find this pattern quite familiar. It has taken me over a decade to accept myself the way I am, stop myself from overdoing it, and recognize when my energy is starting to wind down. I just have to step back a bit and do what I can.

That’s what I’ve been doing all month. Making it work, putting family first, and sleeping. Cough… a lot of sleeping.

All of that to say, sorry! I feel good, and I’m glad to be back at it. March is going to be totally awesome. Whee!

Much love,

H

3 thoughts on “Make it Work

    • Thank you, sweet lady!! I’ll do my best. I think I’ll start making to do lists, little ones, then make them bigger as I can handle more stuff. There’s something very gratifying about crossing things off a list, isn’t there? :)

Leave a Reply

