Saje Advice

Standard

Somewhere between my 18th and 20th year, I became quite obsessed with making my own beauty products. It was the turn of the century, and bath bombs were all the rage. After a long day of browsing the Geocities websites on Netscape 4.0, there was nothing quite like slipping out of those Miss Sixtys, and enjoying a fizzy soak in the tub.

I started taking classes at the community center, and learned how to make lip balm, shampoo, conditioner, soap and the ever fabulous bath bombs. I would set up in my kitchen, crank up the Chicks on Speed, and get to work.

Chicks on Speed Will Save Us AllMy homemade hair products smelled nice, but were never powerful enough to tame the beast that is my hair. The lip balm always tasted like stevia, and was never moisturizing enough to undo the damage of years of Lip Smacker addiction. I will always love handmade soaps, but I haven’t laid eyes on a bath bomb in nearly 15 years. That is, until now.

This past weekend, my daughter and I went on a nice long walk to the beach. There was a festival going on, and we thought we’d check it out. It was cool when we set out, but by the time we made it down to the beach, it was roasting. Swarming with people, and roasting. We walked, and we walked, and then I saw it: Saje.

Actually, I smelled it before I saw it. The unmistakable perfume of pure essential oils took me back to my DIY beauty product days, and I practically ran inside.

We were greeted by an absolutely gorgeous and ridiculously tall (jealous!) woman who recognized that I was about to pass out from heat, and kindly spritzed me with a Carrot Mist. Oh, it smelled so good. I’m quite fond of the smell of carrot oil. Throw some geraniums in there, and honey, I’m sold! Perhaps it was witchcraft, or the power of suggestion, but I actually felt quite refreshed after a few spritzes.

We wandered about the shop, sniffing everything possible, when the shiny foil wrappers of the Bath Swishes caught little B’s eye, and she wanted to smell them all. Aha! Little cakes that fizz away in your tub, releasing gorgeous fragrances as you bathe. Miss B became rather enamoured of the Tantra Bath Swish, so I treated her to one. Any incentive to get the kid in the bath!

Saje Tantra Bath SwishLast night, she used the swish, and let me tell you, never (ever) have I had such positive feelings about patchouli. It smelled like a rich hippie in the bathroom, and I mean that in a really good way. I feel like an old love has been rekindled. Bath bombs, I missed you all this time, and I didn’t even know it.

You can buy their products online, but if you find yourself in the Greater Vancouver Area, pop in to one of their shops. The people that work there are incredibly helpful and super friendly, and the scents are heavenly. You will find me in the section with the shiny foil wrapped bath swishes, reliving the halcyon days of my youth.

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

