09-August-2013

Standard

09-August-2013Clockwise from top:

I’m mad about the scent of orange blossom. Simply mad! Cire Trudon’s Odalisque candle is an intoxicating blend of citrus, orange blossom, juniper and vanilla. I’ve been indulging in this luxurious candle all week. I can’t get enough of the glorious fragrance.

I’ve been trying to embrace my curly, unmanageable mane. This week, I decided to bust out the Sally Hershberger Wave Spray, and let the madness ensue. I love the way it smells, and it let’s my hair do its crazy, wavy thing, while somehow keeping it from turning into a hot mess.

This week I finally picked up the latest album from The Knife – Shaking the Habitual. It’s their first studio album since Silent Shout came out in 2006. That record blew my mind, and now they’re doing it to me again. Mercy! I love that the philosophy behind this record spawned something of a performance collective. Digging this record, big time.

I just rediscovered this tea, and thank goodness I did. Rouge Provence by Sloane Tea Merchants, is a rooibos with fragrant florals, reminiscent of the South of France. I quite enjoy floral flavours, and am something of a rooibos nut, so this tea is the perfect afternoon pick-me-up!

Every night, my daughter and I make two cups of steamed milk with honey, snuggle up on the couch, and read a book together. Right now we are reading Comet in Moominland. It’s B’s favourite of Tove Jansson‘s beloved Moomin series. She loves the little animal Sniff, and quotes him constantly. In the story, a comet is coming to Moomin Valley. The young, naive Moomintroll, and his friends, Sniff and Snufkin, embark on a journey to the Lonely Mountains to visit an observatory and learn more about the comet. The adventures that follow are truly fantastic.  If you haven’t read a Moomin book, you are missing out on some profoundly magical storytelling. These books were written for kids, but with a respect for children’s hearts and minds, and a belief that children have the capacity to understand a higher level of thinking than we give them credit for. As an adult, I find so much to connect to in these stories. Simply brilliant.

Follow on Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “09-August-2013

Leave a Reply

