16-August-2013

Standard

16-August-2013Clockwise from top left:

This has been a pretty gnarly week. I’m feeling a little run-down, and in definite need of a little rest and relaxation. The Moths Are Real by Serafina Steer, is a beautiful record. A soothing balm for my tired soul. Ms. Steer has such a wonderful voice, and is there anything quite as lovely as the harp? This album sets my imagination alight, and calms me, all at once.

With all the chaos of the past week, I’ve been a bit neglectful of my frazzled hair. I normally use L’Oreal Mythic Oil in my hair on a daily basis, and I can really tell when I haven’t been using it. To make matters worse, it’s been super humid for the past couple of days, and I’m starting to look like a poodle! A day or two of my sweet Mythic Oil and my hair will be smooth and soft again.

I’ve been fighting a summer cold. I can feel my throat getting tingly, and I could quite easily sleep for a few days, given the chance. Enter: the ginger root! I made a simple syrup with ginger earlier this week, and have been taking it with cranberry juice, in tea, and yes, by the spoonful. Adding chopped fresh ginger to a cup of hot water and lemon is so yummy, energizing and good for your tummy. Now that the weekend is here, I’m going to be knocking back many a gingery hot toddy. If you have a favourite ginger remedy, I’d love to hear it. Seriously, I bought a few kilos of the stuff. Help me out.

I haven’t had any time for reading this week, but I started a really excellent book some weeks ago, and am looking to finish it off this weekend. The Last Viking by Stephen Bown, is the story of the life of Roald Amundsen, the world famous Norwegian explorer. Man, when you think you’ve had a rough couple of days, pick this book up. Amundsen explored some of the last unknown places in the world, and the tales of his expeditions are inspiring to say the least. Feeling like you’re stuck in a rut? Try being stuck on ship that’s frozen into the Antarctic ice for a couple of years. Sheesh! All kidding aside, I haven’t enjoyed a book this much in ages. Thoroughly researched and totally engaging… and I have learned a great deal! Win, win.

If I haven’t yet made it abundantly clear that I’m more of an autumn person, this should help make that point. I’ve been lighting Esteban‘s Figuier Tardif burning sticks, in an effort to make it feel more like fall. I know, summer is awesome, but I can’t help myself! The smoky fig fragrance is earthy and rich, the perfect scent to transition from late summer to precious fall! Ok, maybe I’m being a bit overzealous. At least I haven’t gotten into the firewood, pomander or pine scents yet. Feel free to intervene if I start singing Christmas carols before Halloween. One must draw the line somewhere.
Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

