23-August-2013

Standard

23-August-2013Clockwise from top left:

Yes, that’s a giant wedge of cheese. Darn right. Let me tell you, this Douanier might be the greatest thing that has happened to me in some time. Similar to a Morbier, this fromage is made in Quebec. I won’t go into specifics about how much of this I devoured this week, after all, a lady must keep some things to herself.

I’m getting sick of hot, muggy weather. I would love to just put on some makeup and not have it all sweaty and ruined after ten minutes of being outside. Fortunately, Nars lipstick stays put. I love Russian Doll for fall. It’s quite striking! I’ve never really worn it during the summer, but right now I love the contrast of the dark shade with an otherwise make-up free, sun-kissed face. I haven’t been able to find it online. I hope it’s not discontinued!

I find Voluspa’s fruity and foodie scents a bit cloying, but I’ll take their Lichen and Vetiver any day. This week I’ve been lighting this candle up on my bedside table, and enjoying its fragrance while I read before I fall asleep. Vetiver is one of the notes I actively seek out. This blend is an earthy yet clean scent. Come to think of it, I would really like this in a body spray. I’d spray it on everyone.

Speaking of reading, I’m busting out the Colette this week. By golly, do I love her writing. I wish I had discovered Colette as a teenager or a young(er) woman, I honestly think I’d be a different person. Sidonie-Gabrielle Colette was a French novelist, and quite a controversial woman in her day. She was married a number of times, had affairs with women, and wrote candid, often autobiographical tales of romance. Scandalous!

I’ve been on a bit of a lavender kick this week. Sprinkling lavender oil on our pillows, spraying us all with lavender mosquito repellent (it works!), drinking it in tea, eating it on fish, washing my hands with lavender soap…. no wonder I have been oversleeping. The scent of lavender is such a comfort to me. It reminds me of my mum, and evokes visions of purple flowering fields. So calming.

I’ll be honest, I’ve been listening to this record all year, not just this week. At the start of the year, a friend in Norway touted The Silicone Veil as one of the best of 2012, and I was intrigued. I managed to get a copy, and have yet to tire of this album. Susanne Sundfør is incredible. Her songs are brilliantly composed, and her voice has an astounding range and strength. As someone who sings (badly) and composes music (slightly less badly), this record really sets the bar as something to aspire to. Sundfør is a classically trained musician with an arsenal of amazing synth sounds and a voice that could summon the gods. Powerful.

Follow on Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “23-August-2013

Leave a Reply

