13-September-2013

Standard

13-September-2013Clockwise from top left:

While I definitely owe this week’s props to the makers of Gravol, and the bland diet of brown rice, that doesn’t make for very interesting reading, does it? I had the displeasure of being quite ill this week. Fortunately, I’m back on my feet, and enjoying a delightful lunch at the beach.  Nothing like a seaside nosh and a glass of wine while I work. If I could just figure out how to log in to the allegedly free wi-fi, I would definitely make a habit of this.  Seriously, why do I need a userID to log in to free wi-fi? Grrr. Another glass of wine, please.

My makeup routine is pretty low-key in the summer. I mean, I’m just going to have to re-apply sunscreen every 10 minutes, so what’s the point?  Now that fall is around the corner, I’m quite happy to surprise myself with how much lovelier I look when I fix myself up a bit. I’m quite fond of Stila’s In the Know palette. It’s got a perfect range of colours for redheads, and it comes with a really great grey eye pencil (which I lost somehow… groan!) and an instruction booklet to show you the myriad of looks you can create with the palette.

Tender is the Night is one of my most beloved F. Scott Fitzgerald books. I adore the character of Nicole Diver, and the way Fitzgerald writes her, it’s impossible not to fall for her charms, despite her flaws. She may not be the main character, but I always felt drawn to her far more than that loathsome Rosemary. (There, I said it!) I have an ancient copy of this book, and it’s one that I come back to every couple of years. Even the title gives me goosebumps.

You know what’s good for an angry tummy? Angostura Bitters in a glass of tonic water. Three cheers for quinine and gentian violet! Settles the tum without all the nasty sugar that comes in a glass of ginger ale, and one bottle of bitters will last you until the next ice age.  Oh, and it’s great to have on hand for cocktails, so you can celebrate when your tummy feels better.

I’ve had the newest Boards of Canada for a couple of months, but I hadn’t given it a listen until now. Tomorrow’s Harvest is distinctively BoC, and yet somehow richer and more textural than their previous work. This is exactly what I want to listen to when I go for long walks in the rain by the sea. I love these Scots and the way they manipulate sound.

Some ladies have multitudes of purses and bags, but I am not one of these women. I find it quite tricky, in fact, to find a day-to-day bag that works for me. I need a bag that is big enough to hold what I need for the day, without weighing me down. Something that is beautiful and well-made, without being obviously branded or emblazoned with logos. For days when I’m travelling light, I usually sling my little Isabel Marant lambskin bag over my shoulder and off I go. This week, however, I needed something a with a bit more room, so I brought out my beloved Abaco Odelia bag. It ticks all the boxes: big-but-not-too-big, loads of pockets, handles and shoulder straps, beautifully made, subtly fabulous! I tucked this baby away last spring, and I’m so happy to welcome her back.  Bienvenue, Odelia… I’ve missed you!

*my apologies – due to technical difficulties, this somehow didn’t manifest itself in the proper time frame – better late than never, I hope! – H*

Follow on Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “13-September-2013

Leave a Reply

