20-September-2013

Standard

20-September-2013Clockwise from top left:

I did a lot of driving this week… driving time that could have been reduced by half were it not for terrible congestion, road work at every turn, and general everyday too-many-people-ness. Thank goodness for the iPod. This week I pretty much only listened to The Radio Dept. You know how you get in a mood, and only one thing will do? I needed something poppy, shoe-gazey and laid back… without putting me to sleep at the wheel. Especially that.

The days have been quite warm this week, but it’s definitely cooling down at night. I have what could be described as an out-of-hand blanket and throw collection. I never had a blankie when I was a baby, ok? The softer the throw, the happier I am. Thus, as soon as the temperatures start to dip, I spend as much time as possible wrapped up in a luxurious blanket like this Rani Arabella cashmere throw. Snug as a bug in a rug!

I have been running ragged this week, and I tried to pick up a new book, but I just ended up getting to the end of the page without knowing what I had just read. When you have to read the same page four times, either the book is kind of meh, or you should just give in and go to sleep. I had heard good things about Welcome to Night Vale, and thought I’d put on a podcast and rest my eyes. Their website describes it best: “Welcome to Night Vale is a twice-monthly podcast in the style of community updates for the small desert town of Night Vale, featuring local weather, news, announcements from the Sheriff’s Secret Police, mysterious lights in the night sky, dark hooded figures with unknowable powers, and cultural events.” It reminds me of the late 90’s when I would lay awake at night listening to Art Bell, except it’s not real, and I can actually sleep afterwards.

Another weapon in my arsenal. When waging the war on haggardness, one must be prepared to engage the enemy on all fronts. A few carefully blended attacks with Benefit’s Watt’s Up highlighter, and my tired face retreats, leaving a healthy glowing face in its wake. A strike down the middle of my face from hairline to chin, a blitz along the upper cheeks from under the eye to the temple, and a light barrage along the jawline, and you’ll be looking fresh-faced and vibrant before you can even say, “Enough with the war analogies!”

You know what’s a super yummy treat? Liberté Méditerranée yogourt. Let me tell you, all the flavours are good. I’ve tried them all. It’s the perfect, creamy blend of milk and cream, and the delicious fruity accompaniments are outstanding. We need our calcium, so we may as well enjoy it. Just don’t think you’re going to be able to enjoy any of that fat-free rubbish after you’ve had this. Pah!

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

