27-September-2013

Standard

27-September-2013 Fox and Rook FridaysClockwise from left:

My mom has been giving away boxes of books, so I went over to take a peek and see what I might want. Well, lo and behold, my copy of Patrick Süskind’s Perfume was in there! I stole it back, and starting diving into it again this week. The first time I read this book, I was so overwhelmed by the pungency of it all, that I almost found it a bit much. On a second and now a third read, I find Süskind’s tale of murder to be such a delightful (albeit, horrible!) exploration of the human connection to scent. I’d love a copy of this book with the Klaus Haapaniemi’s cover art, like the one pictured above. Holy Haapaniemi, it’s beautiful!

Hooray for salt! Poor salt, it gets a bad rap. Luckily, I am here to advocate for the responsible use of salt in all its variants. I’m rather fond of Québec’s Maison Orphée. They offer wonderful oils, vinegars and other delightful edibles, and the prices are not outrageous, even for their organic lines. I’ve been a-salting nearly everything (responsibly!) with their Sel de mer aux herbes de Provence. On a soft-boiled egg in the morning, tomatoes with buffalo mozzarella, my fingers… ha, just kidding. I’m not there yet. Give me time. The salt is flavourful on its own, and the herbs almost make it buttery. Try their coconut oil too, it’s outstanding.

I listened to First Aid Kit’s The Lion’s Roar all summer. At first I wasn’t sure if I liked it, but I kept listening and coming back to it week after week. Suddenly, it became something I’d listen to all the time. The lovely duo’s songs are melodic and the lyrics thoughtful, without weighing too heavily on the soul. Country songs about winter in Stockholm? Yes please. This past week I found this album to be the perfect working companion. It’s much nicer to be listening to something you love when you accidentally sew your finger to the inside of a shirt. Yep.

My beloved Aunty Val has had this amazing Sukin lotion and hand soap in her guest bathroom for a while now. She’s totally on the pulse of what’s natural, beneficial and beautiful, and it shows in her radiance. I have wanted to get my hands on a bottle of Sukin’s body lotion for what feels like ages, and now my grocery delivery place stocks it. Hooray! It’s the warm orange scent that originally had me fiending for the stuff, but the texture of my skin after using it has made me fall in love with it even more. My hands feel like baby’s cheeks! Well, not as chubby thank goodness, but very soft. If I could buy this in industrial sized tubs, I would.

I started going to ballet class this week. For the first time in a very long time, I stood at the barre and fumbled my way through my pliés, tendus, relevés… and even some jumps! It was a little trickier than I had thought it might be. I looked like a pale, globular sea creature, flailing about in the mirror. Despite feeling like an abject failure, I woke up the next morning feeling proud, and dare I say it, more graceful. It might take me a while to feel comfortable, but I’ll get there!

Baies was the first Diptyque candle I ever bought. Now I have enough of the empty jars to start my own candle making business. The rich scent of roses and blackcurrant leaves is a Diptyque classic, and one that I love so much at this time of year. It’s so cold and quiet in the house. The dogs are fast asleep. The kitty is fast asleep. The Baies fragrance has sent everybody into an intoxicating slumber filled with dreams of mystical blossoms and aromatic berries. I think I will join them.

Follow on Bloglovin

5 thoughts on “27-September-2013

Leave a Reply

