Forest Friends Book Club

Standard

Forest Friends Book ClubWell, I’ll be darned. A happy ending! As I was drawing near to the end of the book, I felt as though Lincoln and Beth were done before they’d started. I thought they’d never have the chance to get to know each other. Oh, cruel fates! I was so disappointed for a while there, but then I thought to myself that it would be a bit cheezy if everything turned out perfectly. And then, as the end of the book crept even nearer, everything did turn out perfectly! Despite my predilection for harsh reality and tales of woe and suffering (tee hee), I am a romantic at heart. Maybe I even shed a tear or two when I turned the last page. Maybe. I ain’t sayin’.

All in all, I absolutely enjoyed Attachments. I’ve mentioned before that Rainbow Rowell had yet to cross my radar, and perhaps I might not have even considered this book if the fine ladies of The Duck and The Owl hadn’t suggested it. I’m so glad they did. Ms. Rowell has a witty way about her. The dialogue is so sharp. The characters are all entirely relatable. I especially grew fond of Beth as the story developed. I wanted so badly for her to break free from Chris. She had such a dynamic personality, and was so full of vitality. How do such vibrant people end up with lazy, selfish free-loader types. Blargh! I did feel like everything happened very quickly at the end. I wondered to myself how we could go from such a realistic story, to Beth and Lincoln kissing in the movie theatre without so much as an awkward introduction… but I’m giving that a pass because it made me happy. I’m just thrilled that everything worked out for Beth and Lincoln. I loaned the book to my mom, because she likes happy endings as much as I like miserable ones. ;)

Thus, it is time to start a new book! I have been hearing so much about You Are Not Like Other Mothers by Angelika Schrobsdorff, and thought it might make a good choice for the FFBC. We shall announce the first week’s reading next Friday, so you have a week to procure the book from somewhere. I always recommend the library, but I do have a hot tip! When I went to buy Attachments, I happened to casually mention that it was for my book club, and they gave me 10% off! I think I’ll start telling the folks at the wine store that I’m in a wine club, and see how that works for me.

You Are Not Like Other MothersAnd now I want an ice cream cone.

I can’t wait to read all your final thoughts on Attachments, and I’m looking forward to our second Forest Friends Book Club read-along! Don’t forget to pop in on Sarah & Kaitlyn if you haven’t already, and see what they had to say about our first book!

Have a great weekend y’all.

Follow on Bloglovin

6 thoughts on “Forest Friends Book Club

  1. I am really sad that Attachments is over! I never would have read our new book, but I am excited to try a different type of book! I agree with everyone, the ending was fluffy but very cute!!! Maybe if she spaced it out more it would have been better…. And longer so we would have more Rainbow to read!!

    • Fluffy and cute are the perfect adjectives in this case! I actually thought I might be reading too fast, so I’m glad to know that the ending felt a bit out of pace to others as well.

      I hope you will enjoy the next book! It’ll be a totally different vibe, to be sure… but I’m with you, it’s great to try something different. :)

      • I was reading too fast as well, when I read others reviews it made me think…. :) I am excited to start our next book!!! I like reading book suggestions, and being able to talk about it with others!

  2. “I’ll start telling the folks at the wine store that I’m in a wine club, and see how that works for me.” Ohmygoodness, I just died laughing. If only that were a real thing…
    -Kaitlyn :)

Leave a Reply

