Love it // Hans Wegner Papa Chair

Standard

Hans Wegner Papa Chair ReproOne winter morning, we were driving up to meet some friends for breakfast, when dear husband spotted a chair at the end of someone’s driveway. He was really excited, and swore it was an Eames chair. So, we went around the block, pulled up slowly, and indeed it was an Eames replica lounge chair and ottoman. He proceeded to stuff the furniture into the trunk and the backseat. It was ragged, beaten, filthy, and had an inch of snow on it.

After a lovely breakfast, (which we were very late for) we went home, and he set straight to work on cleaning it up. It has been in the living room ever since.

I hate it.

First off, it’s totally falling apart and unsafe. No wonder the children at the window were laughing as we hauled it away from their house. Screws keep falling out. The wood is splitting. The upholstery has holes and tears.

Ah, the upholstery. It’s brown corduroy. It has a few worn spots, but none so unappealing as the large hole in the seat. I try to mask it by laying a sheepskin over the chair.

The rusted metal feet scratch my oak floors. It makes loud, rhythmic noises when you rock in it. Noises that remind me of a neighbour we used to have. Thin walls. Strong libido. Lots of free time, apparently.

But I digress! My husband loves his precious chair and I loathe it. I fear that my only recourse is to divorce him or replace the chair. Replacing the chair appears to be the more affordable option, but only by a pinch!

I think this reproduction of Hans Wegner’s Papa Chair might be the answer. I love the classic walnut wood paired with the dark upholstery… upholstery that isn’t corduroy. It’s comfortable and comes with an ottoman, surely there won’t be any complaints! It doesn’t take up 10 square meters of space, and it’s not an eyesore. In fact, the only sore spot is the price tag… but really, can you put a price on sanity? No!

Now, upon sharing my woes over The Brown Chair, as it has come to be known, many of my friends have reported similar struggles in their own homes. Do you or someone you love suffer from Brown Chair Syndrome? Talking about it makes it easier to cope, share your story in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Love it // Hans Wegner Papa Chair

  1. He’s not going to give up his Eames chair for a chair you buy! At least that doesn’t sound like husband behavior I’m familiar with! I think you need to find someone who can restore and re-upholster the Eames! ;-)

Leave a Reply

